Abraham Lincoln: The Shortest President in US History

Known for his leadership during the Civil War, Abraham Lincoln’s greatness became so widespread that the shortest President in US history was required to publicize himself as a much taller man. Lincoln was documented at 5 ft 2 in, making James Madison the second shortest US President at 5 ft 4 in.

Each year, from kindergarten through twelfth grade, Abraham Lincoln was casted as Tiny Tim in his school’s annual production of Charles Dickens’ A Christmas Carol. Despite garnering much success and attention in this role, Abe became self-conscious about his height, sometimes going to great lengths to appear taller. He began to wear black to look taller and slimmer, and he also wore a stovepipe hat. All of this began in the sixth grade.

A rare photo that accurately displays President Lincoln\'s height.

A rare photograph that demonstrates Abraham Lincoln’s true height.

During Lincoln’s presidency, the best photographers in the world were hired to document his four years in office. The presidential photographers used trick photography, which led to the belief that President Lincoln was 6 ft 4 in. In many pictures Abe Lincoln is seen sitting, but due to the camera angle and with the help of an illusionist, Lincoln managed to appear tall and lanky.

Historians agree that Lincoln was just the leader the American people needed during the Civil War, a time of strife and dissension. To this day he remains one of the most well-known presidents despite his (for the lack of a better word) shortcomings.

30 Responses to “Abraham Lincoln: The Shortest President in US History”


  1. 1 B. Martinez June 4, 2008 at 10:11 pm

    this is so funny!! especially since they have that HUGE statue of Lincoln in Washington DC -if this were true it would look like a matter of overcompensation!
    Seriously, I love this site! I come back every day for more

  2. 2 Andrew Z June 9, 2008 at 10:58 pm

    Is this site supposed to just make people laugh with doctored photos? or do you really believe this?
    wow
    dont be suckered by everything this “history buff” has to say.

  3. 3 Dave Newell June 9, 2008 at 11:04 pm

    The normally composed and reserved staff at The History Bluff sometimes get a good chuckle out of comments like these…

  4. 4 Andrew Z June 9, 2008 at 11:04 pm

    ha ha ha oops…i just read about the author of the site…it all makes sense now!
    carry on my friend….funny stuff
    🙂

  5. 5 YUWAB October 29, 2008 at 7:54 pm

    I have to admit, that photograph almost had me convinced.

  6. 6 kolagen December 15, 2012 at 10:15 am

    Incredible points. Outstanding arguments. Keep up the amazing spirit.

  7. 7 kolagen colway January 25, 2013 at 1:46 pm

    hey there and thank you for your information – I’ve definitely picked up anything new from right here. I did however expertise some technical points using this website, as I experienced to reload the website lots of times previous to I could get it to load correctly. I had been wondering if your web host is OK? Not that I’m complaining, but sluggish loading instances times
    will sometimes affect your placement in google and can damage your high quality score if advertising and marketing with
    Adwords. Well I’m adding this RSS to my email and can look out for a lot more of your respective exciting content. Ensure that you update this again very soon.

  8. 8 Alergia Pokarmowa U Dzieci June 24, 2013 at 4:44 pm

    Excellent web site you have here.. It’s hard to find high quality writing like yours nowadays. I honestly appreciate people like you! Take care!!

  9. 9 szybki internet June 24, 2013 at 9:04 pm

    Hi there terrific blog! Does running a blog like this take a great
    deal of work? I’ve very little understanding of coding however I had been hoping to start my own blog in the near future. Anyways, if you have any ideas or techniques for new blog owners please share. I know this is off subject but I simply needed to ask. Kudos!

  10. 10 koenigsegg for sale December 1, 2013 at 5:43 am

    Have you ever wondered I would like to sell my car for cash?

    There are plenty of possibilities, so it may be overwhelimg unless you are
    shown who you can trust.

  11. 11 read more January 16, 2014 at 2:04 am

    Mate, seriously awesome piece!

  12. 12 car buying service January 22, 2014 at 6:07 pm

    Your site design is a real gem. It makes a collosal difference when wanting to spend time on a blog.
    You’ve got me coming back for You’ve definitely got my seal of approval.

  13. 13 used car prices sunderland January 26, 2014 at 2:07 am

    Are you on Facebook or Twitter? Would love to follow your
    latest videos or blog posts.

  14. 14 buying vehicle May 30, 2014 at 5:26 pm

    This genuinely gets to me. I just want to write as passionately as you.

  15. 15 cash for junk autos derbyshire June 8, 2014 at 7:11 pm

    Can I sign up to your posts?? I don’t know how to do it and don’t want
    to miss your next ones.

  16. 16 http://toris-auto-blog.tumblr.com/ June 10, 2014 at 1:29 pm

    You’re an incredible blogger. I’ve join the mailing list for your web site cos I really don’t want to miss out on your up coming articles

  17. 17 selling used car June 10, 2014 at 1:30 pm

    Engaging reading. Great ideas, well-made. I reckon you are
    right.

  18. 18 selling used car June 10, 2014 at 1:33 pm

    You’re so right. I find out about this all the time. Awesome blog post.

  19. 19 Waldo June 12, 2014 at 1:55 pm

    This seriously inspires me. I want to write as amorously as you.

  20. 20 auto sellers June 12, 2014 at 1:59 pm

    Stimulating blogpost. Would you link me to some more of your blogposts.

  21. 21 buying vehicle July 10, 2014 at 1:21 pm

    This truly riles me. I just wish I could be able to write as passionately as you.

  22. 22 best-selling-german-cars.tumblr.com July 10, 2014 at 1:22 pm

    Fantastic information man. Cannot wait for your upcoming post.

  23. 23 www.facebook.com July 10, 2014 at 1:23 pm

    Wonderful post. Could you direct me to more of your work??

  24. 24 sell my car bristol July 11, 2014 at 7:52 pm

    Entertaining blog post. Might you link me to some more of your posts?

  25. 25 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oOpmU27Im5s July 15, 2014 at 1:32 pm

    Delightful writing. Just what are the resources?
    Normally find it a little bit tough to begin

  26. 26 selling used car July 15, 2014 at 1:39 pm

    Fantastic reading. Excellent points, well made. I believe your are just right there.

  27. 27 www.facebook.com July 22, 2014 at 1:20 pm

    Hey, are you with Google +? Would be wonderful for me to browse any future blog posts

  28. 28 buying vehicle July 25, 2014 at 7:04 pm

    Cheers for a real well-informed article. Really makes me think about making a crack blogging and site-building all over again. Any type of guidance how greatest to
    get planning..

  29. 29 www.facebook.com August 15, 2014 at 1:52 pm

    Cheers for a really well-informed post. Makes me want to crack
    blogging over again. Any sort of tips about how exactly is
    best to get started.

  30. 30 http://www.youtube.com August 20, 2014 at 8:17 pm

    Really dont want to miss any future blogposts.


Leave a Reply

